Voodoo (2005) 9'

Suite for violin and piano

Anna Lindemann | music
Stephen Yu | violin
Brett Brown | piano

Premiere | February 2005, Sudler Hall, Yale University

While each movement of Voodoo is derived from minimal musical materials, each movement uses the violin and piano ensemble differently. An off-kilter oom-pah piano accompanies a slowly unfolding violin line only to be interrupted by a unified texture of violin harmonics and twinkly piano in the first movement. The second movement is defined by non-developmental, obsessive percussive textures. The third movement is a cyclical unwinding of two unsynchronized melodies.